Skip To Main Content

Dr. Peter Arcidiacono

Peter Arcidiacono is the William Henry Glasson Professor of Economics at Duke University and visited Texas A&M as a Kirby Distinguished Professor on April 13, 2022. A fellow of the Econometric Society and the International Association of Applied Econometricians, he is best known for his work in three areas: college major choice, affirmative action in higher education, and structural estimation of dynamic discrete choice models.

Dr. Arcidiacono served as an expert witness for the plaintiffs in SFFA v. Harvard and SFFA v. UNC cases currently before the Supreme Court. His presentation, Students for Fair Admissions vs. Harvard: Looking Behind the College Veil, discussed the documents and admissions data related to the case.

Previous Kirby Visiting Professors

Over the years, the following scholars have been Kirby Visiting Professors:

  • Peter Arcidiacono, Duke University
  • Pia Orrenius, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
  • Roberto Salinas-Leon, Mexico Business Forum
  • Deirdre McCloskey, University of Illinois at Chicago | Faculty Lecture | Public Lecture
  • Nathaniel Hendren, Harvard University | Dr. Hendren's Interview
  • John Cogan, Stanford University | Dr. Cogan's Interview
  • Joshua Rauh, Stanford University | Dr. Rauh's Interview
  • John B. Taylor, Stanford University | Dr. Taylor's Interview
  • John Cochrane, University of Chicago
  • Casey Mulligan, University of Chicago
  • Michael Chernew, Harvard University
  • Robert H. Topel, University of Chicago
  • Olivia Mitchell, University of Pennsylvania
  • Robert D. Tollison, University of Mississippi
  • Mark McClellan, Stanford University
  • Eric Hanushek, Hoover Institution
  • Laurence J. Kotlikoff, Boston University
  • Kevin Murphy, University of Chicago
  • Neil Wallace, Pennsylvania State University
  • Rudolf Richter, Universitat de Saarlandes
  • Arnold Zellner, University of Chicago
  • Thomas Sargent, Nobel Laureate, University of Chicago
  • Thomas Palfrey, California Institute of Technology
  • Manfred Neumann, University of Bonn
  • Nobel Laureate James Buchanan, George Mason University
  • Kenneth Shepsle, Harvard University
  • Nobel Laureate Douglass North, Washington University
  • Armen Alchian, UCLA
  • Allan Meltzer, Carnegie-Mellon University