Kirby Distinguished Visiting Professorship

As a Kirby Distinguished Visiting Professor, Deirdre McCloskey presented to faculty and students at the Bush Presidential Library on Monday, March 2, 2020 on the topic, “Freedom, Equality & Prosperity: A Case for a Modern, Humane Version of Libertarianism.” The talk was based on her book, Why Liberalism Works: How True Liberal Values Produce a Freer, More Equal, Prosperous World For All.

Dr. McCloskey gave an additional talk to members of the Economics and Political Science faculty on Thursday, February 27, 2020. The talk focused on the institutions, geography and culture that contributed to the economic boom of the Industrial Revolution.

The Kirby Distinguished Visiting Professorship was established in 1988. This professorship brings internationally recognized scholars to Texas A&M University to interact with faculty and students. Over the years, the following scholars have been Kirby Visiting Professors:

Deirdre McCloskey, University of Illinois at Chicago | Faculty Lecture | Public Lecture
Nathaniel Hendren, Harvard University | Dr. Hendren's Interview
John Cogan, Stanford University | Dr. Cogan's Interview
Joshua Rauh, Stanford University | Dr. Rauh's Interview
John B. Taylor, Stanford University | Dr. Taylor's Interview
John Cochrane, University of Chicago 
Casey Mulligan, University of Chicago 
Michael Chernew, Harvard University 
Robert H. Topel, University of Chicago
Olivia Mitchell, University of Pennsylvania 
Robert D. Tollison, University of Mississippi 
Mark McClellan, Stanford University 
Eric Hanushek, Hoover Institution 
Laurence J. Kotlikoff, Boston University 
Kevin Murphy, University of Chicago 
Neil Wallace, Pennsylvania State University 
Rudolf Richter, Universitat de Saarlandes 
Arnold Zellner, University of Chicago 
Thomas Sargent, Nobel Laureate, University of Chicago 
Thomas Palfrey, California Institute of Technology 
Manfred Neumann, University of Bonn 
Nobel Laureate James Buchanan, George Mason University 
Kenneth Shepsle, Harvard University 
Nobel Laureate Douglass North, Washington University 
Armen Alchian, UCLA 
Allan Meltzer, Carnegie-Mellon University